Tennessee Drug Possession Laws


When you were charged with a drug offense in Memphis, Tennessee or the surrounding area you could possibly be facing numerous impacts including jail time, fines, forfeiture of property, and also permanent felony or misdemeanor convictions on your record. These cases are usually reviewed and managed by a drug possession lawyer in Memphis.

In Memphis, your event will probably be heard at the legal Courthouse building downtown, located at 201 Poplar Avenue.Dallas Drug Charge Lawyer  However, in the event that you were charged in one of many surrounding aspects of Shelby County outside Memphis your case will not be chilled. Germantown drug offenses, Bartlett medication offenses, and Collierville medication offenses will probably be heard in that community’s respective court.

The intensity of drug offenses in Tennessee are contingent on the kind and volume of the controlled substance. It divides drugs into seven types, or programs. For cocaine and methamphetamine, which can be schedule 2 medication, it is actually a crime to produce, deliver, sell, or possess with intent to manufacture, deliver or sell. If the amount is significantly less than.5 grams the offense is a Class C felony punishable from 315 years and a maximum $100,000 fine. There is additional punishment when a gun has been used or owned during the crime.

Marijuana is a Schedule 6 controlled substance. There is also a maximum fine of5,000. Other drugs like heroin, morphine, and LSD carry their particular sets of all fines. For these and other related charges, a Memphis medication offenses lawyer may offer you more specific information on penalties, jail time, and additional punishment.

There’s also ownership without intention, or simply possession of a controlled substance. This is a misdemeanor crime punishable up to 11 months and 29 days, unless the suspect has two or more prior convictions in which case it’s a Class E felony. It is also a felony for an adult to exchange a controlled substance to a minor at least 2 yrs younger. With marijuana, possessing or distributing a level less than 1/2 ounce is just a misdemeanor. With other substances, it will be dependent on the reality. In case it arises from the sort of medication and the amount, as well as other relevant facts, that the ownership was for individual use and not with intent to spread, the charge is likely to soon be a misdemeanor and not a felony.

There may be methods to battle a Memphis medication charge in the event the authorities conducted an illegal search or seizure. It all depends on the important points. Instead, programs like drug court or judicial diversion could possibly be utilized to avoid jail time and maintain the offense off the defendant’s album.

Be the First to comment.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *